## EPHRAIM MOGALE LOCAL MUNICIPALITY HELD ITS INAGURAL COUNCIL MEETING

On the 17<sup>th</sup> of August 2016 the Ephraim Mogale Local Municipality held its Inaugural where 32 members were sworn to council by the Groblersdal magistrate office.

20 seats were occupied by the leading party the African Nation Congress (ANC), 7 seats occupied by the Economic Freedom Party (EFF), 3 seats occupied by the Democratic Alliance (DA) with only one seat occupied by the Freedom Front Plus and the Independent Party.

The council seating began at 14H00 and David Mothogoane was announced the speaker with the following as the executive committee;

Cllr. Constance Kupa- the Mayor

Cllr. Lawrence Mphoke - EXCO Planning

Cllr. Bushy Modisha- Chief Whip

Cllr. Mmakoma Motsepe- EXCO Finance

Cllr. Rebecca Lentsoane- EXCO Corporate Services

Cllr. George Makanyane- EXCO Infrastructure

Cllr. Gladys Phefadi- EXCO Community services.

## **OTHER COUNCILLORS ARE;**

Frederick Sedibane - ANC

Letty Molatudi – ANC

Frida Maloka – ANC

Mongesho Monama – ANC

Maria Aphane - ANC

Jonas Kekana- ANC

Fanny Matlala- ANC

Hudson Mashoeshoe - ANC

Phillemon Ranoto - ANC

Lesiba Mabaso – ANC

Nkopodi Phatlane- ANC

Given Moimana - ANC

Conny Lentsoane – DA

Phillipus Jacobs – DA

Simon Tema – Independent

Frederick DE Beer - Freedom Front Plus

Matsebe Manasoe - EFF

Olga Madileng - EFF

Refilwe Phokwane - EFF

Lawrence Mohlala – EFF

Rouda Sizana – EFF

Thandi Penyane – EFF

The event ended with the Mayor and her speech were she thanked the IEC and all the parties for a free and fair election. She further thanked the past councilors for the good job they did and emphasized that the work they did will not go in vain and they will continue with the solid foundation they laid so that they can improve and develop communities through service delivery.